Weekly Photo Challenge: Object (Old Barn near Altamont update)   25 comments

Sometimes things can take on a new personality during different seasons of the year. Such is the case with this old barn near Altamont, MO. First, you see the plush summer fashion, followed by the more stark fall look.

Whatever time of the year, old barns are fascinating, full of character and a haven for critters of all kinds. And they make wonderful subjects for photography.

For anyone who enjoys old barns and old farm houses, I have a flickr Barns! Barns! Barns! photostream where you can become a member and upload your own photographs.

To be honest, I had pretty much forgotten about it and hadn’t been there probably since July or August of last year. But I went there today and was amazed to find that there are now 16 members and 92 barns and old farm house photographs! Only nine of the photos are mine, including the three I just uploaded today.

The last time I was there, I think there were two or three members, including myself, and about six or so photographs.

The link to Barns! Barns! Barns! in flickr is: http://www.flickr.com/groups/barnsbarnsbarns/

©2013 Cris Coleman All Rights Reserved

©2013 Cris Coleman All Rights Reserved

©2013 Cris Coleman All Rights Reserved

©2013 Cris Coleman All Rights Reserved

Link back to Weekly Photo Challenge: Object

25 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Object (Old Barn near Altamont update)

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. that is a great old barn to work with! would look wonderful in details as well

    • Thanks. Please explain about your details comment. Do you mean extreme close ups? If so, I definitely need to start doing that more often, as I did in an earlier post with a window where you could see the sky through a hole in the roof.

      • I mean that the old wood is very detailed and you can get more abstract shots of details or surfaces. That is what I would dol

      • I haven’t done much abstract work up until recently, and then still not a lot. I tried early on when I first got a camera too many years to count, and, frankly, they sucked, so I never got much into it.

        My photography “eye” tends toward the larger and not so much the smaller, so I don’t even think much about the smaller when I’m out firing off the camera. Also, my point-and-shoot’s macros kind of sucks—that, or I haven’t yet learned how to use it properly.

        I’ll try to keep this in mind, so stay tuned in and I’ll see what I can do—if this snow ever lets up. However, after one of the last snows, I did shoot some texture with a fairly low sun angle, so I’m going to see what I can do with that.

        Thanks for commenting. I appreciate it.

      • Looking forward to seeing more of your photos! Digital pics are free so I hope you will go playing getting closer to things or taking different compositions!

      • Most of the stuff I take photos of have some kind of fencing around them, usually barbed wire, so I am prohibited from getting too close. The best I can do is use the build-in telephoto lens, which makes it hard to get at the subject with different angles. But I’ll see what I can do. I think I need to stretch myself.

        You’re always welcome. Thanks for your comments.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Object (2) | Through the Eye of Bastet

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Object | Khana's Web

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Object (Public Transport Terminal Roofconstruction) | What's (in) the picture?

  5. I love the character of old barns. This is a delightful relic of a bygone age. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    • And thanks to for enjoying. Be sure to check out my flickr Barns! Barns! Barns! and even become a member and submit your own photographs. I’d love to have you. The more the merrier. 🙂

  6. Love old barns. 🙂

    • Come visit my flickr photostream Barns! Barns! Barns! where you can become a member (for free) and upload your own favorites at http://www.flickr.com/groups/barnsbarnsbarns/

      Love to have you. It’s growing way more than I thought it would when I started it last June. While 16 members may not be very much, it’s 14 more than the last time I visited it last July or August.

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge-Object | WoollyMuses

  8. Aah.. Nice.. Old.. and good for photographic scenery.. 🙂

  9. classic..love the barn..was wondering how it feels lo live there…cheers from Indonesia…

    • The US is a great place to live, but it has its problems, the same as everywhere else. At the bottom of these problems is the government, the same as everywhere else.

      I can’t compare it to anywhere else, as I’ve never been anywhere else.

      I live out in the country. The nearest town of any size is 17 miles away (27.6 km), and it’s only about 7,00-9,000 people. The nearest metropolis is an hour drive away on a freeway.

      I live on property my daughter and son-in-law are buying. It’s pretty primitive living, but it’s what I choose to do at this time in my life.

      What about you? 🙂

  10. Hello! I stumbled across your blog while reading in another and thought that I might have some input you’d like. My very first post on my slow-to-grow little blog is almost exclusively about the two barns in my yard. If you’d care to take a look, I’d be much obliged. It was really such a beautiful fall morning amid the soybean fields.
    http://perceivingalife.wordpress.com/2013/10/18/early-morning-explorations/

    • Be sure to visit my flickr and become a member so you can start uploading your photographs of old barns and related things. Love to have you. I like to continue to go through those old barns just to look at them on occasion. It’s a nice take-me-away-from-it-all feeling. 🙂

      • I agree with your cause. Here in rural West Tennessee I have no shortage of them. I have never done anything with Flickr. Is there anything I should know about it?

      • I think you just have to register. You can have your own photostream. I have two of them. But to post to my Barns! Barns! Barns! you have to have a home photostream. At least I do. I just upload first to my home photostream, then in Barns! you just click on the add link and it takes you to your home photostream and you just click on what you want uploaded. I assume it’s the same for everyone. I sign in with my Yahoo account. Check it out and get back with me if you have any issues and I’ll try and confuse you, er, help you. 🙂

  11. Pingback: Don’t Let Your Children Treat Their Own Child Like Dolls | THE BLACK SPAGHETTI CHRONICLES

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Object (3) | Through the Eye of Bastet

  13. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Object (4) | Through the Eye of Bastet

Leave a Reply

